top of page
Search

Dealing with Imposter Syndrome/ Vulnerability

I had a complete meltdown the other night.


Like full on, uncontrollable sobbing, incoherent words, self-loathing pity party.


I think we can all relate – at least a little bit?


Anyway, what had led to the meltdown was my overwhelming thoughts of not being good enough, not knowing enough, feeling stupid, fear of judgment, being exposed as a fraud, failing, and so on.


In the midst of this, Dave said to me…


“Imposter syndrome is not a bad thing. It shows that you know there is more to learn.”


At the time, I didn’t want to hear it, but looking back now, it’s exactly what I needed to hear.


I’ve recently dove head first into launching my nutrition coaching business.


I decided to take the plunge and stop waiting for the stars to align and for everything to fall into place.


I have no idea what I’m doing like 99% of the time…


But I am confident. I am persistent. I am unwavering.


In the face of adversity, I’m forging a path for myself.


I believe some of the most successful people suffer from imposter syndrome.


I believe it stems from a growth mindset.


People who acknowledge that they do not know everything and understand that there is always more to learn and improve upon make some of the greatest coaches, teachers, leaders, and so on.


It is a vulnerable place to be.


But it is an extremely powerful place to be.


We often, equate vulnerability with being naïve, gullible, or weak.


However, vulnerability is authentic. It’s raw and difficult to hide.

Placing yourself in vulnerable situations allows you to be challenged and thus grow, learn and be strengthened. And when is that ever a bad thing?


If you’re feeling vulnerable, stuck, or unsure about a situation in your life, I challenge you to approach it from a different mindset – one of growth.


Ditch fear and comfort zones – nothing ever grows there.


If you suffer from imposter syndrome or something of the like, keep this in mind…


You can’t control what others think of you.


You can’t control what others say about you.


You literally cannot control anything about anyone else.


ISN’T THAT LIBERATING?!


By acknowledging that you have no (and I mean NONE, zero, zip, nada) control over anyone else, it gives you back the power of what you can control – YOURSELF.


Focus on your value.


Focus on what you bring to the table.


Focus on your goals. YOUR dreams and aspirations.


I know, it’s easier said than done.


But you gotta start somewhere if you wanna get anywhere. <3

40 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mistakes Were Made

Uh oh. It happened again. I’m sitting here with a belly full of chocolate and a head full of shame. How did I let this happen? I thought I was past binge eating? I thought I had created healthy habits

Redefining my "why"

The last month or so, I feel like I’ve been in this weird emotional growth stage. Maybe it was Mercury in Retrograde. Maybe I hit a quarter-life crisis. Maybe I’m just growing and maturing naturally.

Injury and Mindset

I have been struggling with a bum shoulder since the middle of September. To be more specific – the area of pain is in my right rhomboid, trap, neck, and the pain wraps around to my pec area. Holding

bottom of page